Jan 21

Print this Post

2013 Award Eligible Post

For those of you looking to nominate work for the Hugo Award or nominate for the World Fantasy Award or nominate for the Nebula Award, here is a summary of Electric Velocipede‘s final year of publication and our eligibility.

The magazine itself is eligible for the Best Semiprozine Hugo Award. Our editor John Klima is eligible for the Best Editor Short Form Hugo Award and the World Fantasy Award Nonprofessional. Cover artist Thom Davidsohn is eligible for the Best Fan Artist Hugo Award (link to artwork below).

The short fiction distinctions are for Nebula and Hugo Awards only. All the stories published in Electric Velocipede last year fall under the Short Story category for the World Fantasy Award.

All of the poetry from last year is eligible for the Rhysling Award. We’ve published a lot of great poetry over the years and would love to see some of our amazing authors get recognized.

Issue #26

“Blood in Tears” by Stefanie Maclin
” ‘The trees are just woods, and the woods just trees…’ ” by Stefanie Maclin
“Melt” by Cislyn Smith

“The Tempting: A Love Story” by James Alan Gardner
“The Irish Astronaut” by Val Nolan*

Short Stories
“Paradigm Shift” by Julie C. Day
“The Still Room” by Jamie Killen
“Grandmother of Ghosts” by E. Catherine Tobler
“The Entomologist’s Three Ballgowns” by Brooke Wonders

Issue #27

Thom Davidsohn’s cover

“Dream Vision” by Megan Arkenberg
“Cloth Leaves and Wire Vines” by Gillian Daniels
“sarah” by Nancy Hightower
“sarah (revisited)” by Nancy Hightower

Short Stories

“Seven Ways of Bringing Down the Regime” by Daniel Ausema
“Bones” by Helena Bell
“Song of Mary” by Geoffrey W. Cole
“The Coronation Bout” by Lisa L. Hannett
“Eating the Pomegranate” by Megan Kurashige
“Ondine’s Curse” by Katherine Mankiller
“The Fungi That Talk Softly” by Harry Markov
“The Beasts We Want to Be” by Sam J. Miller
“The Girls of the Forest” by Margaret Ronald
“The Carnival Was Eaten, All Except the Clown” by Caroline M. Yoachim

* Val Nolan’s story will be reprinted in Gardner Dozois’ Year’s Best Science Fiction 31st Annual Edition and Jonathan Strahan’s Year’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Vol. 8.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.electricvelocipede.com/blog/2013-award-eligible-post/