Aug 08

Print this Post

2012 World Fantasy Award Ballot Announced

The ballot for the 2012 World Fantasy Awards was recently announced. Congratulations to all the nominees! We’ve been a part of this process in the past (and hopefully will be again in the future) and know how exciting it is to be there. In the past we’ve not necessarily put the whole ballot up, but we will today.

While we do sincerely congratulate all the nominees, we’re especially proud of current and past Electric Velocipede contributors—Lavie Tidhar, Catherynne M. Valente, Karen Joy Fowler (a Blindfold Taste Test piece), Ken Liu, E. Lily Yu, Jeff VanderMeer, and Lisa L. Hannett (as L. L. Hannett)—on their nominations.

At this time we don’t know if anyone from the EV team will be in Toronto for the convention, but we’re sure people will enjoy themselves regardless. Good luck to all involved!

•  Those Across the River, Christopher Buehlman (Ace)
•  11/22/63, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton as 11.22.63)
•  A Dance with Dragons, George R.R. Martin (Bantam; Harper Voyager UK)
•  Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)
•  Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)

•  “Near Zennor”, Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)
•  “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong”, K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)
•  “Alice Through the Plastic Sheet”, Robert Shearman (A Book of Horrors)
•  “Rose Street Attractors”, Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight)
•  Silently and Very Fast, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA Press; Clarkesworld)

Short Fiction
•  “X for Demetrious”, Steve Duffy (Blood and Other Cravings)
•  “Younger Women”, Karen Joy Fowler (Subterranean Summer 2011)
•  “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)
•  “A Journey of Only Two Paces”, Tim Powers (The Bible Repairman and Other Stories)
•  “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 4/11)

•  Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Tor)
•  A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones, ed. (Jo Fletcher Books)
•  The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Harper Voyager US)
•  The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)
•  Gutshot, Conrad Williams, ed. (PS Publishing)

•  Bluegrass Symphony, Lisa L. Hannett (Ticonderoga)
•  Two Worlds and In Between, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean Press)
•  After the Apocalypse, Maureen F. McHugh (Small Beer)
•  Mrs Midnight and Other Stories, Reggie Oliver (Tartarus)
•  The Bible Repairman and Other Stories, Tim Powers (Tachyon)

•  John Coulthart
•  Julie Dillon
•  Jon Foster
•  Kathleen Jennings
•  John Picacio

Special Award Professional
•  John Joseph Adams, for editing – anthology and magazine
•  Jo Fletcher, for editing – Jo Fletcher Books
•  Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books
•  Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications
•  Jeff VanderMeer & S.J. Chambers, for The Steampunk Bible

Special Award Non-Professional
•  Kate Baker, Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
•  Cat Rambo, for Fantasy
•  Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
•  Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker blog
•  Mark Valentine, for Wormwood

Permanent link to this article: http://www.electricvelocipede.com/blog/2012-world-fantasy-award-ballot-announced/